Dead Masters

News-2015-06-26-young-michael-crop-500I have only just learned that Mike Young, who was housemaster of Pennell House whilst I was at Wargrave House at Eastbourne College, died last year.

Well, it hardly surprsing that these guys die in the end.

Mike Young was not really supposed to be teaching me anything much, but contrary to the prevailing rules, I spent some in his house rather than in my own because it was a lot more civilised, and I had friends there.

Mike Young was a friend in the rather harsh environment of a 1960s public school.  He persuaded me that it was OK for me to spend my time reading pretty much all of Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky while I was supposed to be concentrating on my maths, physics and chemisry A levels.

A good chap. Not nearly enough of that sort of thing these days, I fear.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

