Country Living II

binsThere is no rubbish collection from the house there. Instead, it is back to the middle ages. To throw anything away, I have to drive to the local midden, 4 miles away, where I have installed a pair of bins, which I had to buy from the council yesterday.

With splendid irony, there is a separate bin for recyclables. No matter that I have to drive a round trip of 8 miles, emitting exhaust fumes all the while, to do my bit to save the planet.

No matter. Anything flamable goes into the stove. And there are tremendous views, the light changing with extraordinary rapidity. The hills to the West were fabulous in the last of the sun yesterday evening, but by the time I got my camera out, a mist had rolled up the valley, and the moon suddenly popped out from behind a cloud in the East.

IMGP5705IMGP5706

Leave a comment

Filed under Manners, News from at home

Leave a Reply

