Ravenscam

ravenMy son Jamie’s school asked yesterday if it would be OK for him to be assessed by means of a Raven test.

So I looked it up.  A Raven test turns out to be an IQ test, in which one is to identify progressively difficult shape sequences. Driven by curiosity, I started the test on line, and it turned out to be great fun.  It was really quite hard by the end. And then the kicker: they say , “Well done, you have completed the test. Now you will have to pay 19 Euros if you want to see the results”.

Well, by this time I had wasted half an hour of my time, and despite some suspicion that the whole thing might be a scam, I paid the 19 Euros.  This is what they sent back:

Robert Fenwick Elliott,
Age: 63
Gender: male
Country: Australia

Your IQ is: 156
Standard Deviation: 24
Percentile:  99.018469315%
Rarity: 1/102

Your age adjusted IQ score is 156 and the average score for all test takers is 98.45.

Your Grade ** Genius **

Anyone with a general IQ this high is undoubtedly a genius. From this range on, 
only specific high-range tests should be considered. You have the ability to think critically, 
conceptualize ideas and form your own conclusions. Your ability to think in patterns and 
to produce order out of chaos enables you to handle complexities and see logic in everything…

Oh well! Perhaps it was worth 19 Euros just to have a bit of feel-good validation.  I wonder if they will start bombarding me with messaging asking if I would like to spend another 19 Euros on a “specific high-range” test?


4 Comments

Filed under News from at home

4 responses to “Ravenscam

  1. I have no doubt you would score a high grade in such a test.

    Being a sceptic, I wonder how honest they are with people in general. Who wants to told they are a dummy? Perhaps they offer training to improve your score which is quite easily done. I did a series of IQ tests years ago and progressively received higher scores as you learn the process through repetition.

  2. If you actually believe your IQ is 156 based on a test such as this, it’s definitely in question. I agree with Ron. I lived for a short time with a member of MENSA in London who gave me practice tests and basically taught me how to approach the MENSA IQ test for entry to that august group and I bolted it in. A bit of practice makes all the difference. I also suscribe to the view that intelligence is not bright and no IQ test will measure the latter and the latter is much to be preferred.

  3. I do not, of course, put much credence in a test like this. Although as it happens, I am reasonably confident that I got the considerable majority of the questions correct notwithstanding that they really were quite challenging by the end. It would be quite interesting to get someone to do the test again, but deliberately putting in some incorrect answers; I wonder what score would be returned in such a case?

  4. Ah ha! Some evidence just in: a certain person I know, who I regard as very smart depite her poor education, has just done the test, and turned in 130. So she got “gifted”. So it seems that they do at least discriminate to at least some degree when returning the results, which is to their credit.

Leave a Reply

