LinkedIn, LinkedOut

Some time or the other, I suppose, I must have signed up to LinkedIn, since I get many notifications from people asked to be linked to me. Some of these people I know, and some I don’t.

Having recently got a bunch of requests from people I do not know, I clicked the button that gets to add people. Lots of them popped up on screen.  I added some people who I know and like, just for balance really.  After a few minutes, I realised that it keeps on and on suggesting names, with surprising insight into the extent of my acquaintance. If I had nothing better to do, I could have kept going for hours. But I really have no idea what useful purpose the whole thing serves, except perhaps to find people whose email address one has mislaid. But you can do that without the linking thing, I think?

There must be advantages in being a monk.

Leave a comment

Filed under IT

Leave a Reply

